Font size:


IAC Meetings

Meeting VI: 20-21 January 2003

The International Auschwitz Council met in Warsaw on 20-21 January. The subject of the debate were issues connected with the former extermination and concentration camps, especially Auschwitz-Birkenau, Belsen and Treblinka. The Council heard a report on the provisions of Stage II of the Government Strategic Oswiecim Programme and discussed the present and future educational mission of the Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum.

Meeting V: 15-16 April 2002

On 15 and 16 April 2002 the 5th session of the International Auschwitz Council took place in Oswiecim under the chairmanship of Professor Wladyslaw Bartoszewski. Deputy Culture Minister, Aleksandra Jakubowska, Deputy Minister of Internal Affairs and Administration, Andrzej Barcikowski, and Deputy Voivod (governor) of Malopolska, Andrzej Harezlak, attended....

Meeting IV: 10-11 September 2001

Fourth assembly was devoted to current issues connected in particular with former camp of immediate extermination in Bełżec. Some points of the order of the day focused on settling the rules of cooperation between International Auschwitz Council and International Group of Experts in Auschwitz Governmental Strategic Program run by Prof. Andrzej Tomaszewski.

Meeting III: 8 May 2001

The Council Members visited areas of former concentration camps in Bełżec and Majdanek. The assembly was devoted to current matters related to former concentration camps in Auschwitz-Birkenau, Bełżec and Majdanek in particular. Several points of the agenda were related to areas of former concentration camps in Płaszów and any other problems on education and exhibition connected with former concentration camps' issues.

Meeting II: 12 October 2000

The Council worked on the issue of City of Oswiecim and the area of former concentration camp coexistence. Particularly it focused on the problems of Gravel-heap, investments of "Maja" Company and creating a disco club in ex-tannery building.

Meeting I: 7 June 2000

The Prime Minister, Jerzy Buzek appointed 25 members of the International Auschwitz Council; Prof. Władysław Bartoszewski became the President of the Council, Prof. Israel Gutman and Stefan Wilkanowicz became its vice-presidents, Kazimierz Albin, Piotr M. A. Cywiński, Ks. Prof. Michał Czajkowski, Prof. Wacław Długoborski, Henryk Flug, Prof. Józef Garliński, Rabin Irving Greenberg, Kurt Hacker, David Harris, Dr Stanisław Krajewski, Nathan Leipeiger, Miles Lerman, Agnieszka Magdziak-Miszewska, Prof. Bohdan Rymaszewski, Avner Shalev, Stanisław Stankiewicz, Kalman Sultanik, Prof. Józef Szajna, Marian Turski, Siegfried Vergin, Prof. Jonathan Webber and Emmanuel Wientraub - its members. The Council chose its Secretary — Piotr M. A. Cywiński.
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5