Font size:


IAC Meetings

Meeting I: 7 June 2000


The Prime Minister, Jerzy Buzek appointed 25 members of the International Auschwitz Council; Prof. Władysław Bartoszewski became the President of the Council, Prof. Israel Gutman and Stefan Wilkanowicz became its vice-presidents, Kazimierz Albin, Piotr M. A. Cywiński, Ks. Prof. Michał Czajkowski, Prof. Wacław Długoborski, Henryk Flug, Prof. Józef Garliński, Rabin Irving Greenberg, Kurt Hacker, David Harris, Dr Stanisław Krajewski, Nathan Leipeiger, Miles Lerman, Agnieszka Magdziak-Miszewska, Prof. Bohdan Rymaszewski, Avner Shalev, Stanisław Stankiewicz, Kalman Sultanik, Prof. Józef Szajna, Marian Turski, Siegfried Vergin, Prof. Jonathan Webber and Emmanuel Wientraub - its members. The Council chose its Secretary — Piotr M. A. Cywiński.

During the first assembly that took place on the same day as handing over the nominations, members of the Council discussed on the organizational matters. Then the Presidium of the Council with the President, both vice-presidents, the Secretary and the Spokesman — with M. Turski in that role — was created. The Council worked out the rules on its activity.

The rules admit non-members to participate in the assemblies. In addition, the Members created three committees and appointed their chairmen. Those were: Committee of Finance with K. Sułtanik, Committee of Education and Information with St. Wilkanowicz and Committee of Maintenance and Renovation of Monuments with B. Rymaszewski. During the debates among the Members of the Council it was decided that the cooperation with NGOs and self-governmental partners would be a very important element in Council's activity. To establish those contacts relevant committee would be created in the nearest future.