Font size:


IAC Meetings

Meeting XXII: 18 January 2012

On 18 January 2012, the last session of the 2006-2012 tenure of the International Auschwitz Council was held in the Prime Minister's Office. At the beginning of the meeting, the participants observed a minute silence for the departed Noah Flug, a former prisoner and long-standing member of the Council.

Meeting XXI: June 1-2, 2011

Under the chairmanship of Władysław Bartoszewski, the International Auschwitz Council, which reports to the prime minister of the Polish Republic, held its twenty-first session in Oświęcim on June 1-2, 2011. Opening the meeting, Auschwitz-Birkenau State Museum Director Dr. Piotr M. A. Cywiński presented a report on the months since the last meeting. He stressed that financial needs are becoming increasingly urgent....

Meeting XX: November 23, 2010

Four important resolutions resulted from the 20th session of the International Auschwitz Council, held at the Chancellery of the Chairman of the Council of Ministers in Warsaw on November 23. First, the members of the board heard a report by the director of the Auschwitz-Birkenau State Museum, Dr. Piotr Cywiński, covering the period since the last session and including the issues of flood protection, the progress of the Auschwitz-Birkenau Foundation, and the increasing financial difficulties facing the Museum....

Meeting XIX: June 8-9, 2010

The International Auschwitz Council, which is convened by the Polish prime minister, met at the Center for Dialogue and Prayer in Oświęcim on June 8-9, 2010. The Council heard a report from Auschwitz-Birkenau Museum director Piotr M. A. Cywiński on developments since the last session. In view of the threat of the total destruction of the original grounds and buildings by floodwaters at both Auschwitz I and Birkenau, the members of the Council unanimously approved a “Flood Appeal to the Chairman of the Council of Ministers of Poland.”...

Meeting XVIII: 17 November 2009

The International Auschwitz Council met in the Chancellery of the Council of Ministers building in Warsaw on November 17. Participants in the session, chaired by Minister Władysław Bartoszewski, included Ewa Junczyk-Ziomecka, minister in the Chancellery of the President of the Polish Republic; Tomasz Merta, deputy minister of culture and national heritage; Krzysztof Stanowski, deputy minister of national education; Zvi Rav-Ner, the ambassador of Israel in Poland, and the members of the IAC.

Meeting XVII: 15-16 June 2009

The International Auschwitz Council convened by the Prime Minister of the Republic of Poland was in session in Oświęcim on June 15-16, 2009. Prof. Władysław Bartoszewski chaired the session. The members of the Council returned once again to the issue of the seven Roma portraits painted by Dina Gottlieb-Babbitt . The Council emphatically reiterated its previous determination that the transfer of the originals to Mrs. Gottlieb-Babbitt, as she demands, is out of the question.